top of page
  • Writer's pictureIvy

String of Luck!

One of the easiest ways to decorate for a holiday is with a garland. Whether it be on your mantel or on an entryway table, it can be easily made for only a couple dollars! All you need is a couple sheets of felt and an old book. As mentioned in previous posts, I find all my used books at the thrift store! For only a quarter or so, you have endless ideas to use the book in so many ways. So I have made a ton of crafts for Valentine's Day, so I decided to do a St. Patrick's Day garland. One of the easiest ways to make a garland is to think of a shape that represents that holiday, so obviously I picked shamrocks. All I did was print out an enlarged image of a shamrock and trace out the image. From there I cut out each shamrock from both the felt and paper. If you'd rather just buy the shapes all ready to go, you can head to Dollar Tree to find them there!


So to attach the shapes to make a garland, I used hot glue and jute twine string. For the shamrocks cut out with the felt, I made them significantly larger. On the other hand, I cut much smaller shamrocks using the book pages, that way I can use the smaller and larger as a "sandwich" and the jute twine is in the middle.

And there you have it guys! An easy, simple garland for St. Patrick's Day! In total, this project cost me $1.48! Like I said before, you can literally make a garland for any holiday. Below is a list of ideas for each holiday that myself personally has used for garlands!


Valentine's Day - hearts and arrows

St. Patrick's Day- shamrocks

Easter - eggs, carrots, and bunnies

Spring - flowers

Memorial Day, Fourth of July, and Labor Day - stars

Summer - lemons and orange slices

Halloween - pumpkins, ghosts, and witches hats

Fall - pumpkins and leaves

Thanksgiving - pilgrim hats and turkeys

Christmas - trees, candy canes, reindeer

Winter - snowflakes and snowman




And there you have it! Look how simple and refreshing the pop of green is! I just love the little touch of the paper from the book. I think it adds a farmhouse feel to the garland.


 

List of matierals needed for this project:

two sheets of felt (your color of choice) 24 cents each at Walmart!

an old book

shamrock shapes from Dollar Tree

hot glue

jute twine string

scissors

46 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page