top of page
  • Writer's pictureIvy

Peep Peep!

Updated: Jan 22, 2020

Another great thing that I've come to notice about Dollar Tree is their large holiday décor signs. At only a dollar, the possibilities are endless! One of my favorite signs that they carry is their wall signs, usually found in the holiday section. They are a little over 18 inches in length and are a perfect start to any DIY. The one I picked up is this love sign.

So I started by removing the metal heart, it isn't hard but be careful because they are sharp. Next after sanding down where the heart was, I took Applebarrel's paint in the color white (you can find these at Walmart in the craft section for fifty cents each). In order to cover all the red letters, you will need to apply at least three coats of the paint. While the paint is drying, I went to google images to find a template of a "peep bunny". I printed it out fairly large in order to have two bunnies painted on the sign. Then once the sign has dried, I took a pencil to trace the outline of the peep bunny.



Once the bunnies have been traced, next is to pick your paint colors. I am again using the Applebarrel paint found at Walmart. The colors I picked are light pink and cloudless.

After the paint has dried, next thing I decided to do is to add a phrase, or you can leave it as is! So, Dollar Tree has great word stickers, but in my opinion Michael's and Walmart have better options. The phrase I decided to use is "hello peeps". After deciding where I wanted the phrase to be placed I thought it needed an extra touch. My two ideas were to add the eyes and nose, or add two cotton balls for their tails. I went with the tails but both options are adorable! In order to attach the tails, I used hot glue because I am impatient lol! But any kind of adhesive works just fine, hot glue is just quicker.

And this is the final product guys! I absolutely love it! One thing I love about my crafts is that they are completely customizable. The designs are endless, and to make it multifunctional you can flip the sign over and make another design for spring or even another holiday! One thing I did forget to mention was the string used to hang the sign. The original sign came with a bright red ribbon. I cut the ribbon and added a piece of jute twine so that the vibrant color wouldn't take away from the pastel peeps. But like I said it is completely your preference. Adding a buffalo check plaid ribbon would be adorable too!


 

Here is a list of the items needed in order to complete this fun Easter DIY :

Dollar Tree heart love sign

paint of choice and color (along with paint brushes)

word stickers

cotton balls for tails or sharpie marker for eyes and nose

jute twine for hanging the sign


Total amount spent to make this sign was only $3.50! I already had the cotton balls and jute twine on hand.


Peep Peep!

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page