top of page
  • Writer's pictureIvy

Bunnies? Eggs? Carrots? Must be Easter!


I try to make it to the Dollar Tree at least once a week. Sometimes I get in these ruts where my mind just does not want to be creative and it drives me batty! But after walking around I came across these small boxed shaped décor pieces for spring. I've noticed at Target they sell a group of 3-4 signs that match so I decided to make a version of my own. So the signs that I picked up from the Dollar Tree were these:



So on the left is the front of the sign, but I was more interested in the back of the sign. I removed the sticker (came off easy) and began to paint the inside including the sides. I used Apple Barrel's paint from Walmart in the color white. It took about two coats to get a nice even base for the sign. While the paint was drying, I went into google images and found a carrot and a bunny. I printed those out and cut them down. Next I took mod-podge (can be found at the Dollar Tree) and applied a light coat to the back of the printable and placed it on the sign. I then painted another coat over the image so it would be snug in place. After that, I used letter stickers from Walmart to make cute phrases. This is where you can get creative! I decided to do bunny trail, egg hunt, and carrots.



After adding all the phrases, I freehanded the five cents and the arrows. I then painted on the eggs. I also took a sharpie marker to add designs to the eggs. I also added a jute twine bow to the bunny! I wasn't completely satisfied with the signs so I took pastel paints and painted around the boarders of the signs to add a pop of color! And there you have it! Three adorable signs for the Easter season, and they even fit perfectly in a tiered tray!


Items needed for this project:

3 Dollar Tree box signs

lettered stickers

paint & mod-podge

markers

images printed of choice


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page