top of page
  • Writer's pictureIvy

Welcoming Entryway

Due to the recent events, one of the positive things that has come out of this quarantine is being able to do some spring cleaning and redecorating spaces. Since the lockdown, the only visitors I seem to get is the UPS and FedEx deliverymen. When an idea sparks, I immediately shop around my house, but if I cannot seem to find what I am looking for I turn to Amazon. Nothing beats prime members shipping.

I decided that my entryway table needed a little sprucing up. Recently I have been using this space for holidays, St Patty's, Valentine's Day, even a touch of Christmas. But it hit me that when a holiday is close, I go a little nutty with decorating for it. Me? Nutty? Yeah, its one of the adjectives to describe me I know. But in all seriousness, I decided that my new thought process when it comes to decorating in general should be limited. For my husband's sanity and my bank account, I like this new idea. Something that bothers me to the core is clutter, and I have come to notice that all my décor seems to be too much, resulting in my frustration even though it was myself that caused it. Soooooooo that is my new mindset when it comes to buying, decorating, and even organizing all my decorations, whether they be for a holiday or just everyday.

Recently on this quarantine, I went up to my attic to organize my cluster of a mess. After about two hours I gave up, but once I gave up it hit me. I HAVE WAY TOO MUCH STUFF. A lot of it is stuff that does not even get used. For example, I have Christmas trees, bulbs, wreaths, throw pillows, things that have not seen the light of day since we moved to this house a year and a half ago. Enough was enough Ivy Overly, time to declutter and be minimal when it comes to décor.

So with that being said, I went room by room taking down décor that was just too much for the space, and went for a more simple look. I began with my entryway table. Any time I begin to decorate a space I clear it off, fresh slate if you will. I then went onto Pinterest for some inspiration. I wanted the space to be warm and welcoming, but also have that simple clean look. My main staple items I use are lanterns, candle sticks, greenery, and a throw pillow/blanket. Another strategy I like to use is multiple textures and heights, that way it is more appealing to the eye. With that being said, here is what I came up with:

Now do not be fooled, this set up took me three hours, along with opinions from my mom and cousin. But what I find so satisfying with this space is knowing that I created it with all items used that I already owned. The books in front of the lantern I DIYed simply by taking two old hard back books, tearing off their hardbacks, and using jute twine I wrapped a simple bow around them, adding an aged look. Everything on the bottom shelf minus the pillow was thrifted. In total this entire look cost me around thirty-five dollars! Which c'mon is dirt cheap compared to what you would spend at Pottery Barn or West Elm. The items that were not thrifted are from either Ross, TJmaxx, or Kirkland's with a coupon or clearance tag.

With that being said, I am in love with how the space turned out.

53 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page